//
you're reading...
Visual Aesthetics

Logical Distrubutions

A response to Michael Beirut’s 79  Short Essays on Design

 

I love fiction storytelling when its text truly resonates with its reader. What’s behind this has always interested me: what makes stories relatable, how do humans empathize with fiction characters, what makes a good story. Lately, I have become interested in how the framework of stories effects its effectiveness to tell the intended story.

I just turned in a research paper on transmeida storytelling. Its simple definition is storytelling which involves multiple platforms to tell one story. Hypertext, on the other hand, was a precursor to transmedia storytelling involving references to other texts which are accessible. This is usually executed using hyperlinks. I find am fascinated by how the redistribution of stories can enhance the way stories are told.

Michael Bieuret discusses Vladamir Nabokov’s 1962 Pale Fire, and it’s relevance to design. To me, this vocalizes how I look at design as a manifestation of storytelling. In order to effectively tell his story, Nabokov titles the separate sections of his book being by different fictional authors, even though they are all written by himself. The sections all refer to lines in other sections, creating a cohesive world for the reader. Working with this framework would not be ideal for every story, but it was groundbreaking in creating new framework which others, such as ARGs and transmedia storytelling, derived from.

Design is storytelling, because the designer always has to logically plan how they will best tell their story. Its those willing to think outside of the box, like Nabokov, that make way for future innovation.

About lindseyhuston

I'm a strategic thinker with an eye for design. A recent graduate of Wofford College, my liberal arts background in Philosophy and English provided me with extensive writing and analytical skills. I’m adding to my skill set at Elon University learning as an MA in Interactive Media student. Teachable, driven, with an affinity towards networking, I hope to utilize my skills in a career in advertising and interactive design.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

