//
you're reading...
Production

Portfolio Pursuit

In tackling my portfolio site, there are a lot of elements to consider. What design aesthetic do I want to portray? Should I write my own code, or do I use a CMS? What projects should I include in my portfolio?

In getting inspiration for my site, I’ve been browsing portfolios on the internet. Some site are clean, and some sites are busy. Other sites are professional, while other sites embody pure professionalism.

I have made a list of things to regard when creating my own portfolio site. One, I want my career focus to be clear. I want my goals and interests to be clear in both my text and site design. Also, I want the projects I include in my portfolio to reflect the kind of work I want to continue to do. Second, I want my site to have a clean design. The first step of my site sketching will be picking a color scheme, and then I will draw out every page I plan to include in my site. This will begin with an outline planning the logical structure/flow of my site.

Most importantly, however, portfolio sites are a reflection of one’s self. It’s important to be inspired, and include personal interests. Whether this is reflected with text including personal interests or innovative style, I see it as a positive to reflect personal style and humanity in a portfolio site.

Illustrate your imagination

Always plan a good color scheme.

About lindseyhuston

I'm a strategic thinker with an eye for design. A recent graduate of Wofford College, my liberal arts background in Philosophy and English provided me with extensive writing and analytical skills. I’m adding to my skill set at Elon University learning as an MA in Interactive Media student. Teachable, driven, with an affinity towards networking, I hope to utilize my skills in a career in advertising and interactive design.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

