//
you're reading...
Production

New Tools for Production

I have mixed feelings about leaving Flash behind this week. At the beginning of the semester, Flash was the tool I dreaded using the most. Some people took to it quickly by excitedly delving into basic animation. However, after eleven weeks with Flash I realized I began to love Flash for a different reason: it made me slow down and appreciate design. I thoroughly enjoyed my second Flash project, because I took my time while planning a color scheme, illustrations, textures, etc.

This week, we left Flash behind and jumped into jQuery and JavaScript. This is something I’ve looked forward to learning since the beginning of the semester, and I realized the skills I learned while tackling Flash will translate to my learning process now. In order to create any good website, time must be put into strategy and design.

I wish I could combine my coding and design skills to create a portfolio like this.

Picking up some jQuery skills this week, I’m excited to start planning for my portfolio site. I spent a day scanning various sites, paintings, photographs, for visual inspiration. Going into designing my portfolio site, I want to have a clear plan. I’m now able to view the skills I learn as skills, while still getting help from my professors, and it’s important to remember the importance of planning.

About lindseyhuston

I'm a strategic thinker with an eye for design. A recent graduate of Wofford College, my liberal arts background in Philosophy and English provided me with extensive writing and analytical skills. I’m adding to my skill set at Elon University learning as an MA in Interactive Media student. Teachable, driven, with an affinity towards networking, I hope to utilize my skills in a career in advertising and interactive design.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

