//
you're reading...
Production

Means to an Aesthetic End

Each week, I relate better to Flash as a tool. What I mean is I’m not always  proud of the aesthetic value of my Flash assignments. Rather, the feeling of accomplishment comes when my ActionScript is correct, and my intended animation or interactivity functions.

However, tackling my first project has allowed the time for a creative process. Part of the overwhelming nature of Flash creation, for me, is staring at the blank canvas in a document. How will I ever get this canvas to reflect the ideas in my head? When creative writing, I never start my process staring at a blank Word document. I take out a notebook and pencil, and I write. I scribble, cross out, erase, rewrite, until I have something worthy of typing.

My plain Audrey sketch

I decided to go about my Audrey infographic timeline in the same manner. I don’t want to trace an image created by someone else, because I want my content to reflect my ideas. My idea is to create a plain Audrey, with no accessories. Every time I move the slider on the timeline, information on one of Audrey’s movies will appear along with the salary she earned. To add an interactive element, an accessory will be added to my cartoon Audrey as her salary increases.

I scanned my Audrey sketches onto my computer, and I traced them in Illustrator with the “live trace” feature. I spent time picking each color and typeface for my project, with consideration for using an aesthetic theme. I have most of my content together, and I have mapped out my plan for ActionScript. This includes which images will be movie clips, buttons, etc. My next step, to focus on the ActionScript functionality, is now not so overwhelming. Focusing on the aesthetics, I appreciate the messages that can be expressed with Flash as it is merely a means to an aesthetic end.

About lindseyhuston

I'm a strategic thinker with an eye for design. A recent graduate of Wofford College, my liberal arts background in Philosophy and English provided me with extensive writing and analytical skills. I’m adding to my skill set at Elon University learning as an MA in Interactive Media student. Teachable, driven, with an affinity towards networking, I hope to utilize my skills in a career in advertising and interactive design.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

