//
you're reading...
Production

“Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’!” ― Audrey Hepburn

Johnny Depp made a reported $40 million dollars last year for his role as the Mad Hatter in Alice and Wonderland, making him the second highest paid actor of the year.

In 1961, Audrey Hepburn earned $750,000 for her starring role in Breakfast at Tiffany’s, making her the second highest paid actress per film behind Elizabeth.  A $40 million dollar salary at this time would seem ludicrous, unattainable. Researching Ms. Hepburn for my first Flash project has exposed me to her optimistic words and made me contemplate the state of the world during her era.

In 1961 Yuri Gagarin was the first human in space, the First inflight movie was shown on TWA, the first electric toothbrush was produced by Squibb Co., Alan Shepard made first US Space Flight, Niagra Falls started producing hydroelectric power, the first quasar is discovered by Allan Sandage at Mt Palomar, California, and IBM introduced the Selectric typewriter Golfball.

Audrey Hepburn’s words of optimism from the 1960s are now published across the internet. As the 1960s were such a radical time of change politically and technologically, I wonder if anyone could imagine the means which we communicate with today.

With the advancement occurring within the last half of a century, it’s hard to fathom what technology will be used when I one day have children. The future is exciting, and I agree with Audrey believing “Nothing is impossible!”

About lindseyhuston

I'm a strategic thinker with an eye for design. A recent graduate of Wofford College, my liberal arts background in Philosophy and English provided me with extensive writing and analytical skills. I’m adding to my skill set at Elon University learning as an MA in Interactive Media student. Teachable, driven, with an affinity towards networking, I hope to utilize my skills in a career in advertising and interactive design.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

