//
you're reading...
Production

A Cluttered Mind of Content

I can see a light of hope. This week Flash was not the main source of my frustrations. With due dates, a job search, and a capstone project in my foreseeable future, I began to view my classes in a new way. Flash is a tool.

I know, this is simple. Why would I view Adobe Flash as anything other than a production tool? But after brainstorming potential topics for my Theory and Audience analysis course research and my capstone project, my mind became cluttered with ideas.

A popular topic among my classmates and me is to discuss our failures with Flash.

“My buttons won’t work. What’s wrong with my ActionScript?”

Human beings fear the unknown, and there is a lot I don’t know when it comes to Flash. Why, I have asked myself, am I learning Flash? It is a valuable skill set for the work force, true. But a further point is that it may give me the ability to execute my ideas.

I often think of myself as a writer. But if I don’t have means of recording my thoughts, can I still be considered  writer? The same can be said for Flash. My goal is to pursue a career in marketing. In our interactive age, tools like Flash are essential for creation.

Projects can be consuming. When it comes to Flash assignments, however, I’m telling myself to bring on the mistakes. Frustration will come from sorting through ideas, if emphasis is placed on content. When we are young, we learn how to write through practice with pencils and paper. Flash is the same, and only through its reinforcement will I learn how execute my ideas.

About lindseyhuston

I'm a strategic thinker with an eye for design. A recent graduate of Wofford College, my liberal arts background in Philosophy and English provided me with extensive writing and analytical skills. I’m adding to my skill set at Elon University learning as an MA in Interactive Media student. Teachable, driven, with an affinity towards networking, I hope to utilize my skills in a career in advertising and interactive design.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

