//
you're reading...
Production

“The Future Holds… my Life” Map

“Add the classic tween, double-check your ActionScript 3.0, embed all .swf files and add them to your project folder!”

Staring at a blank Adobe Flash document can be one of two things: daunting or liberating. With Professor Sang’s lessons from iMedia’s Digital Media Workshop running through my head, I embark on my first assignment of the semester for my Producing Interactive Media course. A month ago, I wouldn’t know where to begin hearing Flash vernacular. I have a background in Philosophy and English, and can hardly say I have had academic instruction in technological skills.

I begin to realize, however, that the challenge of becoming proficient in Flash production parallels to to the challenges of the rest of my life. I implement the basic skills I was taught by Professor Sang during the Digital Media Workshop. After I finish each step, I am frustrated by my lack of technical knowledge or my original aesthetic choices. Although my comfort level with Flash has risen, the reality of a steep learning curve is reinforced with each creative idea I fail to execute. But I complete the assignment. I have five flash movies, and they all contribute to illustrating a stage in my life up until now.

I contemplate what I will say while presenting my assignment. When I start thinking about my current stage in life, I realize the uncertainty. In a year from now, I hope to be employed. I hope to be pursuing my passions, and I hope to maintain good relationships with my friends and family. Starting the iMedia program, my classmates and I have constantly been asked about our career goals. I respond by saying I have a passion for writing, and I have a business-oriented drive. I would love to always be able to write, but I would also love to have a fast paced career in interactive marketing.

Starting the iMedia program, the idea of Flash production seemed daunting, because it forces me out of my comfort zone. Working for hours and not getting my ActionScript to correctly function is frightening. But like the rest of my life, my flash document can always be a blank slate. I have a steep learning curve, and it will be up to me to commit to my goals and soak in all that I can. With that mentality, the first Producing Interactive Media Production project has been liberating. I may not love what I produced, but I can see what experiences I have to look forward to. In iMedia’s program and in the rest of my life, I’m committing to being optimistic about my future and I’m excited about what’s to come!

 

About lindseyhuston

I'm a strategic thinker with an eye for design. A recent graduate of Wofford College, my liberal arts background in Philosophy and English provided me with extensive writing and analytical skills. I’m adding to my skill set at Elon University learning as an MA in Interactive Media student. Teachable, driven, with an affinity towards networking, I hope to utilize my skills in a career in advertising and interactive design.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

